### MENU 1

# The Mest Anstralian

# **BHP Future Ready STEM Challenge**

**Laura Newell** The West Australian Thursday, 31 October 2019 2:00AM

Laura Newell



Warwick Senior High School science teacher (L) Ben Garnaut conducts a wind turbine experiment with year 8 students Anthony Blazeski and Katy Lockton, watched on by BHP's Pat Bourke and Science Minister David Kelly. Credit: The West Australian

Thank you for taking part in the BHP Future Ready STEM Challenge.

Please find a list of winners below. Each winning team will receive \$10,000 for their school to spend on STEM-related equipment and resources and each individual student will receive a \$500 STEMrelated prize.

A Seven West Media representative will be contacting each winning school in the coming days to organise distribution of prizes.

Thank you to everyone who took part in the challenge. The judges have said they were blown away by the creativity from all those who entered.

The challenge was developed for children in years 3 to 10 as part of the Resources Technology Showcase 2019 event, and as a result of BHP partnering with Seven West Media.

Open to all schools in WA, teachers were able to select from a number of different challenges and opportunities linked to the mining and resources industries.

If you have a query in relation to the challenge, please email <u>bhpfutureready@wanews.com.au</u> and someone will come back to you as soon as possible.

More on the challenge and the winners will be available in Saturday's Weekend West.

## The winners:

**Year 3 winner:** Woodlands Primary School – Akain Wijayathunga, Oliver Haywood-Munro, Noah Schweikert, Ben Davey

**Year 5 winner:** Perth College – Chloe O'Donoghue, Scarlett Ford, Isabella Nguyen, Sophia Way, Beth Salmon

**Year 6 winner:** Ardross Primary School – River-Jean Flint, Tiana Slivkoff, Chloe Harold, Sofia Yeomans, Gabby Whyatt

**Year 7 winner:** St Hilda's Anglican School for Girls – Liora Godfrey, Misha Ng, Sydney Djakaria, Chantelle Coveney

**Year 8 winner:** Presbyterian Ladies' College – Jacinta Cuthbertson, Sophie Hardcastle, Madeleine Robins, Sarah Spencer, Anya Sreenevasan

Year 9 winner: Churchlands Senior High School – Hamza Khan, Kai Ng, Xin Ze Cai

**Year 10 winner:** Pannawonica Primary School – Alleca Whyte, Austin Godfrey, Nicholas Sylva, Hineriu Wynyard-Thompson

**Judge's Choice:** Great Southern Grammar's Year 9 team – Maya Anning, Stella Mellows, Jasmin Boyett, Zoe Slatter, Jana Kriek